Amelia Bedelia Bakes Off (and You Can, Too!)

GirlChild sounded like she was talking nonsense when she was telling me about the Amelia Bedelia book she had been reading, but since those books are full of silliness, I figured she just didn’t quite get the jokes, so I had her reread it aloud to me so I could explain the word play. We discussed homophones (words that sound alike but are spelled differently) and idioms (words or phrases that mean one thing literally but another thing to the group of people who use the idiom (“raining cats and dogs” was the example I used)). While she was reading, I stopped her occasionally to have her explain the jokes to me or to predict how Amelia Bedelia (or her Cousin Alcolu in this book) would interpret what was said. Thankfully, she has some background knowledge about cooking shows and baking in general, so she was able to focus on just understanding their misunderstandings! At the end of the book (which can be seen on the Amazon preview if you don’t have the book in hand! (UPDATE 8/19/14: I can’t see it there anymore, but I found it here instead!)) is the 9-ingredient cake recipe that Amelia Bedelia uses for the sheet cake–which she just goes ahead and makes into a bed cake because she’s so tired!–that wins the bake off for her, and GirlChild expressed a great and overwhelming desire to make the cake! (Everything is a big deal these days–lots of six-year-old drama!) Since Grandma and Grandpa are here this week, I told her we could, and she and BoyChild and I made it this afternoon. She desperately wanted to make it into a bed cake like Amelia Bedelia does, but I wasn’t quite up to trying to sculpt and do fondant and all that to make it really look like a bed like she did, so we just iced it using this frosting recipe and tossed on some sprinkles. It was pretty tasty, and–for anyone with allergy issues–is egg and dairy free! (The frosting has butter and milk, but those could be swapped out for whatever substitute suits your fancy, or you can just use your own allergen-free frosting recipe!)Amelia Bedelia's Sheet Cake

Kids’ books featuring tie-in recipes make it super simple to help connect your kids’ reading to a family activity and make it fun for everyone, and this one was pretty simple and doesn’t require a bunch of bizarre ingredients (or even a bowl for mixing–you mix it right in the baking dish!). Make sure you have enough cocoa in your cupboard (I had to make a last-minute run to the store because my container was emptier than I thought it was!), and mix up this easy cake tonight! It’s great with a cold glass of milk (or milk substitute)!

If you’re into book tie-in activities with your little ones, try an activity or recipe from these other posts, too!

Parents magazine: Read, Cook, Love, by Monica Bhide

Themed Third Thursday: Apples

Topsy and Tim’s Peanut Crunchies (aka, Health Cookies by my Aunt Lois)

Don’t Let the Pigeon Be Your Cake!

3 Comments

Filed under book tie-in activity/recipe

3 responses to “Amelia Bedelia Bakes Off (and You Can, Too!)

  1. Ema Jones

    Super-like!!
    I made Triple-Layer Chocolate Cake
    http://bit.ly/1oYQ9IX

    • I think I might try your milk chocolate frosting the next time I make this cake! The one I used is really easy, but I prefer the taste of milk chocolate to just the cocoa!

  2. Pingback: Themed Third Thursday: Let’s Eat! | Rushing to Read

Leave a Reply

