Topsy and Tim’s Peanut Crunchies (aka, Health Cookies by my Aunt Lois)

So, GirlChild starts school tomorrow, and, as a surprise, I am recreating Tim’s lunch from Topsy and Tim: New Lunchboxes, by Jean and Gareth Adamson. (I  would have done Topsy’s lunch, but GirlChild is really not fond of cheese and cucumber sandwiches!) I mentioned in my post about the series that I wasn’t able to find a recipe for the peanut crunchies cookies that their mummy makes for them to take in their lunchboxes the first time they stay at school for lunch, but as I was considering GirlChild’s first lunch at school, I remembered these cookies that my family has made for ages. We call them Health Cookies, but it’s pretty clear from the list of ingredients that “healthy” meant something very different back in the days of my Great Aunt Lois! 🙂 They may not be exactly what the Adamsons called peanut crunchies, but they have peanuts and are crunchy, so they’ll do!

Here’s the recipe for anyone who might want to try their own version of peanut crunchies!

Topsy and Tim’s Peanut Crunchies (aka, Health Cookies by my Aunt Lois)

Cream together:
1 c. margarine or butter
1 c. granulated sugar
1 c. brown sugar (packed)
2 eggs

Then mix in:
1 c. flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
3 c. oatmeal
1 c. salted peanuts

Roll in small balls (smaller than a walnut–I used a cookie scoop and broke the scoop in half to make the small ones for GirlChild’s lunch), then roll in crushed cereal (like Rice Krispies, Corn Flakes, or Chex) and place on a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 10-15 minutes. Cookies will be golden brown and chewy. Enjoy!

(If someone who knows how to convert recipes and measurements for bakers outside of the US, I would be most delighted to have the “translation” in the comments!)

2013 September 040

GirlChild’s lunchbox includes a tuna sandwich, a banana, some green grapes, two peanut crunchies, and fruit juice (aka, orange juice)–just like Tim’s! (It also includes a color photocopy of the page from the book that shows their lunches so that she’ll be sure to know why I packed what I did!) Since she’s actually become rather nervous about starting now that it’s finally here, I hope this little bit of encouragement from Topsy and Tim will help her get through her first day happy!

1 Comment

Filed under book tie-in activity/recipe, informational, reader input sought

One response to “Topsy and Tim’s Peanut Crunchies (aka, Health Cookies by my Aunt Lois)

  1. Pingback: Amelia Bedelia Bakes Off (and You Can, Too!) | Rushing to Read

Leave a Reply

