Parents magazine: Read, Cook, Love, by Monica Bhide

The November issue of Parents magazine had an article that caught my eye because of the possibilities for spending some family together time doing two things my daughter loves to do: read and help cook!  “Read, Cook, Love” is written by Monica Bhide and features four recipes based on some childhood favorite books:


Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs (Barrett),


The Very Hungry Caterpillar
(Carle),


The Runaway Bun
ny (Brown/Hurd), and


Chicken Soup with Rice
(Sendak).

The author writes on her own website that this is her favorite article she’s ever written and includes an additional recipe inspired by Winnie the Pooh (Milne).

One of the very few things that ever made me wish that I taught kindergarten instead of fifth grade is the fact that many kindergarten teachers do awesome things like serve green eggs and ham and make construction paper turkey hats and whatnot. Now that I have my own small children, I guess I don’t have to envy the primary teachers anymore; I’ll be keeping my eyes open for cooking tie-ins for the books we read together!  (Hint: Some books, like Carrot Soup (Segal), have recipes right in the back of the book so you don’t have to come up with your own!)

Related titles:

1 Comment

Filed under book tie-in activity/recipe, online resources

One response to “Parents magazine: Read, Cook, Love, by Monica Bhide

  1. Pingback: Amelia Bedelia Bakes Off (and You Can, Too!) | Rushing to Read

Leave a Reply

